Beef Gelatin: How Is It Made? Benefits, Harms

Beef Gelatin

What Is Beef Gelatin? The use of gelatin in the food field is quite wide. Gelatin, which is used to regulate the structures of desserts and drinks, helps foods to be preserved for a longer time. Gelatin, which is 100% of animal origin, is a pure type of collagen protein. It occurs naturally in the body of animals.

Gelatin is used in many countries of the world. It is especially preferred to prevent ice crystals during freezing of foods. It prevents the drinks from foaming. Beef gelatin is another type of gelatin that thickens and prolongs its consumption life.

Almost 60% of the gelatin produced worldwide comes from pork. The remaining share was given to the cattle. The gelatins used in Turkey are bought from Pakistan, according to the latest updated information. Type A gelatin is obtained from pig and cattle hides by applying acidic treatment. Type B gelatin, on the other hand, is the type of gelatin taken from horns and bones by applying alkaline treatment and used in production.

Beef gelatin is found in many products consumed in Turkey. We have prepared this article for you to answer the questions in the minds of consumers and to inform you about the benefits and harms of beef gelatin. Now , let’s talk about what foods contain beef gelatin, what is the benefit, is there any harm, etc.

What Is Beef Gelatin?

  • Beef gelatin is a type of additive known as halal gelatin.
  • It is used in food products such as Turkish delight, chocolate, beverages and desserts.
  • The bovine gelatine used in Turkey is imported and obtained from halal animals.
  • Beef gelatin, a colorless substance, is used not only in the food industry, but also in cosmetic products.
  • Since collagen is a type of protein, it has also been an ingredient in cosmetic products.
  • It is expressed as the protein found in the tissues and bones of mammals.
  • Gelatin gives consistency to the product to which it is added. It thickens liquid foods a little.
  • It prevents the foaming and crystallization of beverages.
  • Bovine gelatin is needed for coating drugs. Capsule medicines are coated with bovine gelatin and presented to the consumer in the Islamic world.
  • When the nutritional value of beef gelatin is examined, it is observed that 1 tablespoon of beef gelatin has 50 calories.

What Are the Benefits of Beef Gelatin?

We would like to inform you about the benefits of beef gelatin, which is included in many products consumed in daily life. Let’s take a look at the benefits of beef gelatin in this list.

  • Beef gelatin has many industrial benefits.
  • It gives consistency to beverages and foods during the production phase.
  • When added to cosmetic products, it adds collagen to the skin and hair.
  • Beef gelatin, which is in the content of milk desserts, provides a very small amount of protein support.
  • It prolongs the life of the drinks and prevents them from spoiling.

Beef Gelatin Harms and Side Effects

Beef gelatin, which is used as an additive, also draws attention with its harms. Now let’s talk about the harm of beef gelatin:

  • Gelatin contains collagen. However, it loses its nutritional value because it is powdered and used.
  • Taking too much of foods containing bovine gelatin powder causes stomachache and nausea .
  • Beef gelatin, when consumed too much, causes damage by disrupting the structure of the intestines .
  • Experts do not recommend consuming too much sweets. The reason for this is the high content of gelatin in the confectionery structure.
  • Beef gelatin is found in chocolate, Turkish delight and jelly beans . This gelatin is produced for consumption, but its benefits for health are not considered too much.
  • If you are consuming packaged foods, you should take care to be moderate for your immune system and intestinal health.

Is Beef Gelatin Halal?

  • When you read the phrases on the products containing beef gelatin, the halal slaughter text will draw your attention.
  • These products are obtained from animals slaughtered according to Islamic rules.
  • If you see the phrase halal on products containing beef gelatin, you have learned that gelatin is extracted according to Islamic rules.
  • Beef gelatin used in the food industry in Turkey is one of the halal products.
  • Can you eat halal beef gelatin? Yes, almost everyone consumes beef gelatin in one way or another.
  • When it’s in prepared foods and beverages, you’re eating beef gelatin.

How to Make Beef Gelatin

The following steps are followed for the production of beef gelatin.

  • First of all, beef bones, skin and tissues are prepared in a hygienic environment in accordance with slaughtering rules.
  • For 1 kg of beef gelatine, an average of 30 kg of beef raw material is provided.
  • Bone, skin and tissues are cleaned with caustic lime or sodium bicarbonate to get rid of bacteria.
  • The cleaned raw materials are boiled in hot water. boiling time is 48 hours on low heat and in special devices.
  • If you are going to make gelatin at home, boil the beef bones in salted water for a long time.
  • Oil-like substances will accumulate on the boiling water.
  • Leave the accumulated substances in the pot.
  • When boiling is finished, strain all the liquid through a fine strainer.
  • The remaining ingredients in the strainer are beef gelatin.
  • You can store natural gelatin for 1 week in the refrigerator and 1 year in the freezer.

How to Consume Beef Gelatin?

  • It is not very possible to consume beef gelatin directly. However, it is useful to know that you are already consuming indirectly in foods.
  • Beef gelatin is used as a thickener in snack flavors. There is a certain amount of beef gelatin in Turkish delight, chocolate and ready-made desserts.
  • If you want to consume bovine gelatin for natural collagen supplementation; You should boil the marrow bone broth at home and let it rest. The layer formed on it is bovine gelatin. You can try various options to consume this food directly.
  • Beef gelatin is included in many food products that you eat and drink ready-made out. Even if you don’t know, you get this substance from many products.
  • Beef gelatin, whose consumption is considered halal, is very useful if it is prepared naturally and has not lost its nutritional value.
  • However, if it has undergone many heat treatments and has lost its nutritional value; consuming it will not be very effective for you.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.