What Is Agar Agar Powder? Is it harmful? What Does It Do?

Agar Agar Powder

Agar agar is a gelatinous substance obtained by separating the essence of red seaweed with special methods. The algae used in its construction are extracted from the depths of the Pacific Ocean. It has no particular smell or taste.

Especially in countries that are meticulous about halal products, since gelatin cannot be used to create a dense, bright appearance and protective layer in pastry, agar, which can replace it, is preferred a lot. Raindrop Cake, an interesting and transparent Japanese dessert that has become popular recently, is also made from agar powder. The calorie content of this dessert is also very low. Agar agar powder is used in different areas such as the pharmaceutical and cosmetic industries as well as the food industry.

We are sure that you are curious about agar agar powder, in our article you can find all the details about this herbal gelatin with an interesting name.

What Is Agar Agar Powder?

  • Agar agar powder, or agar powder in short, is a white, yellow tones, powder form thickener.
  • Agar, also called vegetable gelatin, contributes to making the consistency thicker in different foods and recipes. It is among the main ingredients of jellies.
  • Produced not from a single species, but from several species of seaweed, agar agar is vegetable, not related to animal porcine gelatin.
  • Agar agar can be sold in large quantities, as well as in small packages such as baking powder for home use.

Agar Agar Powder Harms and Side Effects

  • If you are wondering if agar agar powder is harmful , the answer to this question may vary depending on the amount of powder used. It is said that when consumed more than 4 grams on average daily , it can have harmful effects on the body .
  • While the mild laxative effect relieves the digestive system in low use, problems may occur in the digestive system when the dose is slightly exceeded or if there is sensitivity to this type of food.
  • Among the harms of agar agar powder, there is also the possibility of disrupting the intestinal working system and causing diarrhea in excessive use.
  • In case of excessive consumption, the intestinal flora may deteriorate and therefore it may be an invitation to some diseases.
  • If it is not taken with enough water, it may swell in the esophagus and cause a blockage.

What Are the Benefits of Agar Agar Powder?

  • It becomes a good herbal alternative by using it instead of gelatin in the food industry.
  • The issue of herbal gelatin, which is among the benefits of agar agar powder, is also important for vegetarians and vegans. Because gelatin, which is an animal food, is not included in the vegetarian diet, agar agar powder can be preferred instead.
  • There are studies advocating that when taken before a meal, it enables to eat less with the bloating effect it creates. It should not be consumed based on such uncertain observations and should be added to the diet list with expert approval.
  • Dentists also use agar to transfer prosthetic objects to molds in a healthy way.

What Does Agar Agar Powder Do, How Is It Used?

  • Agar can be used instead of gelatin. If the conditions are suitable, the answer to the question of what to use instead of agar agar powder will be normal gelatin, on the contrary.
  • Home use of agar agar is rare, it is generally used in industrial food production.
  • Agar agar powder is among the stabilizers used to increase the durability and density of foods. It can be added to cream cheeses, ice creams, milk, yoghurt, confectionery, Turkish delight, ornamental gels, caramels, jelly beans, cookies, canned meats, instant soups, energizing products for this purpose.
  • It can be used in the production of jam, honey and butter to reduce the sugar content.
  • Agar powder, which is added to bakery products in order to obtain a transparent appearance and extend the shelf life, makes the desserts look brighter and also acts as a preservative.

Is Agar Agar Powder Halal?

  • Since agar powder is also defined as gelatin, a question mark may arise about whether it is halal or not by mixing it with animal gelatins.
  • Agar powder, which is used in fields such as medicine, cosmetics and dental sectors, especially in the food sector, is a herbal and halal substance.
  • In our country, agar powder is sold in the category of halal products.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *